2017 CAMPT VIII OC

The reason why I want to write this today is because I am very thankful for all the people who helped me on the way. I remember going all the way back to the beginning of the year, which was 2016. It was a normal lesson day at my piano school. I was practicing my piece on the stage when I heard a really high-pitched scream coming from my piano teacher’s room. Wondering what it was, I ran into my accompany partner, Hong An Hoang, and she was holding up a really thick book. She told me that my piano teacher, Ms. Molly Nguyen, gave me a new concerto, and that I were to compete with the concerto in 2017. I was shocked to hear that because I knew that this would be the ultimate test for me, whether I’d be able to be successful in playing a long piece or not.

My piece is named Concerto No.1 Mov.3 by Chopin. It’s fairly hard and about 10-12 minutes in length. Throughout the first fews month, I couldn’t even play half the song because my fingers were too weak. I constantly kept in my mind that I can never give up, therefore, I would practice for hours just one line at a time. It took a lot of patience and dedication, but I eventually perfected it. The only thing I needed to improve on was add more emotion to my piece and relax while I play.

The day before the competition, Hong An had reported to me that she might be stuck in DC, and she wouldn’t be able to make it back to California in time. I was stressed out and worried that I would have to quit the competition. Luckily, later in the day, some miracle saved me, and An was able to fly back in time for the competition. I had my competition last Saturday. It took place at Irvine Valley College. I felt really confident and I had a lot of people in the audience to support me while I play. I ended up in 2nd place. Screenshot_2017-04-09-07-54-26 (1)

FOLLOW ME ON FACEBOOK @ Susan Le; Instagram @tenksh10; Snapchat @tenksh; Twitter @tenksh

2 thoughts on “2017 CAMPT VIII OC

Leave a Reply

